Team Great Britain heads to Bahrain for the 2023 Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals

Columns: Close Up
Following on from the huge success of Team GB at the 2022 RMCGF in Portugal J.A.G Engineering who are the official distributor for ROTAX in the UK have assembled their biggest team to date as they strive for yet more success one year on. (Elliot Cunnington–Stu Stretton Photography, Josh East Photography, Traction Media)

Lining up on the MicroMAX grid will be Oliver Spencer who won the British ROTAX Open Championships in March at Whilton Mill Kart Club.  Alongside him will be Edward Haynes who finished 3rd in this year’s British Kart Championship and Emerson MacAndrew-Uren the 2023 Motorsport UK MicroMAX British Champion.  

Rotax Inter will be represented by Oliver Warner won the ROTAX US Trophy in September winning him a ticket to the Grand Finals, Cole Denholm who won the 2023 Motorsport UK Inter British Kart Championship and came 2nd in the Rotax Euro Trophy, Jacob Ashcroft who won in this year’s ROTAX Euro Trophy, Joshua Griffin fought hard at the final round of the British Championships to secure a 5th place finish in the championship which also secured him a Grand Finals ticket, Charlie Woolfitt came 4th in this year’s British Championships giving him a seat in Bahrain, Albert Friend who came second in this year’s British Championship won the Rotax International Trophy and came third in the Rotax Euro Trophy and finally Rory Armstrong is the 2023 BNL vice champion after a hard-fought final round of the championship at Genk and as such also won a Grand Finals ticket.

The Junior ROTAX team is made up of Timo Jungling who finished 3rd in this year’s Euro Trophy and 7th Motorsport UK British Kart Championship, Archie Clarke who came 6th in the Euro Trophy and 8th in the British Championships, Joshua Graham came 3rd in the British Championships making him the highest place Junior Rotax from the British Championship to compete in the Junior class, Kenzo Craigie finished 2nd in Euro Trophy to win himself a Grand Finals ticket and Thomas Bearman finished 8th in Euro Trophy and 6th British Championships.  

This year’s Senior Rotax team will be made up of Oliver Hodgson as he returns to the Grand Finals after winning the event in 2013.  Kai Hunter who is the 2023 BNL Senior Rotax Champion & the 2023 British Champion also retuns to the grid.  He will line up alongside his UK teammate, Matthew Higgins who finished 2nd in this year’s British Championship & 4th in the Rotax Euro Trophy, Macauley Bishop won this year’s Junior Rotax British Championship but moves up to Senior for the Grand Finals, Sean Butcher who came 2nd in the Rotax Euro Trophy and 3rd in this year’s British Championship, Lewis Gilbert who came 4th in the British Championship & 6th in the Rotax Euro Trophy, Mark Kimber who is a 3x Grand Finals Champion and this year will return in Senior Rotax after winning his ticket on becoming the 2023 Senior Rotax European Champion and Ethan Jeff-Hall who won his grand finals ticket after winning the 2023 Rotax International Trophy.  Ethan also came 2nd in this year’s Junior Rotax British Championship.  

This year Team GB are bringing just one representative to the DD2 & E20 classes.  Following on from winning the 2023 ROTAX 177 Open Championship at PF International Louis Large will race in DD2, and Spencer Brougham will race in E20 following his win at the PFi round of the 2023 ROTAX Euro Trophy.  

We wish all 25 drivers the very best of luck.  
The event starts on 2nd December at the Bahrain International Karting Circuit in Sakhir, Bahrain with the Grand Finals taking place on 9th December.

Created by: cggiuliano - 21/11/23

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list