Crg and Hiltbrand hunting the European KZ2 title

- News and Previews
Press Release by:
The third and final round of the European KZ and KZ2 is to be held next 12 July in Belgium at Genk.

CRG is leading KZ2 classification with Pedro Hiltbrand, who is the favorite in the title hunt. This coming weekend the circuit of Genk in Belgium will decide the winner of the CIK-FIA European Championship for categories KZ and KZ2 and CRG is leading the charts with its multiple-times winner chassis and Maxter engine driven by the quick Spanish driver Pedro Hiltbrand, who is in the fight for the KZ2 title victory, after the Italian outfit won it last year with Andrea Dalè.
In Genk, Hiltbrand will be supported by a partially strengthened CRG team. Alongside Felice Tiene, Fuma Horio and Fabrizio Rosati, two Brazilian drivers will also make it to the track wearing the official colors of the Italian outfit, Gaetano Di Mauro and Enzo Bortoleto. In KZ CRG works team will be represented by Simo Puhakka instead.
The current classification leader of the European KZ2 Championship is Pedro Hiltbrand who stands at 52 points, thanks to the second place obtained in the Final at the first round of Sarno and the victory obtained in Zuera, where the Spaniard also scored 7 further points in the qualifying stages. The closest opponents are 17 points short of him: European vice-champion of 2011 and 2013, Joel Johansson, Paolo Besancenez and Luca Corberi are in fact all equal on points at 35.
Pedro Hiltbrand will get to Genk as the favorite even if nothing has to be taken for granted. The qualifying stages in Belgium will award up to ten points, while 25 points will be up for grabs in the Final. Regulations include a joker among the 6 results obtained in qualifying and in the Finals. Only the chequered flag will therefore be able to tell the winner of the European 2015 title.
Thursday 09.07.15. Free practice.
Friday 10.07.15. Free practice; Qualifying practice from local 16:50hrs.
Saturday 11.07.15. Qualifying heats from 10:45hrs.
Sunday 12.07.15. Prefinals from 11:25hrs; Final KZ2 at 13:20hrs; Final Academy at 14:10hrs; Final KZ at 14:55hrs.
Live Timing and Live Streaming feeds will be available at and A special on the race will be shown on Motors TV during the following week.
1. Hiltbrand points 52; 2. Johansson, Besancenez and Corberi 35; 5. Fasberg 34; 6. Kremers 29; 7. Tiene 22; 8. Siebecke 19; 9. Federer and Celenta 18.
1. Camponeschi points 67; 2. Ardigò 56; 3. Hanley 53; ... 11. Dalè 12; 12. Forè 11; 13. Puhakka 10.
The very long palmares of CRG at the European Championship features 40 titles. From 2007 when category KZ and KZ2 have been introduced,CRG won the following European Championship titles:
2008: Jonathan THONON (B), KZ1, CRG / Maxter / Dunlop                
2011: Fabian FEDERER (I), KZ2, CRG / TM / Dunlop                           
2012: Jorrit PEX (NL), KZ1, CRG / TM / Bridgestone                          
2013: Max VERSTAPPEN (NL), KZ, CRG / TM / Bridgestone              
2014: Andrea DALE’ (I), KZ2, CRG / Maxter / Bridgestone                


Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list
Follow Us on Facebook