Unquestionable Victories of Öberg, Olsen and Aarsnes in the Viking Trophy

Press Release by:
Columns: Races

The classic rendez-vous of Northern European Kartists, from the Baltic countries and Russia, the Viking Trophy was hosted this year in Norway, after Denmark (2009) and Sweden (2010), and before Finland next year.

While the Karting circuit of Rudskogen has remained unchanged and is still as interesting thanks to its layout and hilly aspect, the Viking Trophy Drivers at their arrival found out that the venue was under work as the adjacent small Motor Sport circuit is undergoing a spectacular transformation: from 1,900 metres its course will be extended to 3,200 metres.

The category with the largest number of entries, the Juniors’ KF3, saw the big announced favourite, the Norwegian Dennis Olsen (Energy-TM), outrageously dominate the event. He only missed out on pole-position which in qualifying practice went to the Estonian Martin Rump (Birel-BMB). Olsen was at his best both on a dry track in the heats and on a soaked tarmac in the final phase. Leader after the qualifying sessions he successively carried off the prefinal and final with quite a comfortable lead. In the final he finished ahead of the Swede Robin Hansson and of the Norwegian Cedrik Skare with a margin of over 7 seconds. It is worth noting that the Energy-TM pair had a stranglehold on the Juniors’ podium as the top three Drivers all used this equipment.

In KF2 the Finn Juuso-Matti Pajuranta (Ninar-Vortex) proved the most convincing competitor on a dry track, initially achieving the second fastest lap time in practice behind the Russian Egor Orudshev (Tony Kart-Vortex), and then wins accompanied by the fastest racing lap times in the first two qualifying heats. The arrival of the rain however changed the game and metamorphosed Norway’s Kenneth Aarsnes (Tony Kart-Vortex), who was unbeatable in the third and last heat, then in the prefinal and yet again in the final, to such an extent that he relegated his runner-up, the Dane Martin Mortensen (Kosmic-TM), to over 7 seconds! The podium was completed by Denmark’s Jacob Gram Nielsen (Kosmic-Vortex).

Already winner of the previous edition of the Viking Trophy, also run on a drenched track, the Swede Viktor Öberg (Gillard-Parilla) took his own succession on the list of result of the KZ2 event, well ahead, by more than 8 seconds, of the Norwegian Kenneth Ostvold (Energy-TM) and of the revelation of the European KZ2 Championship held the week before in Germany, the Finn Henri Kokko (Ninar-TM).

Press Release by: FIA Karting - 22/06/11

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list