Track action begins for RMC Euro Trophy series in Belgium

Columns: Races
The sun’s out and it’s time to go racing at the European Rotax series for 2023. There are 30 different nationalities on the start grid making up the total field of 201 competitors at the first round of the season for the Rotax MAX Challenge Euro Trophy at Karting Genk this weekend in Belgium.

Following the success of the RMC Euro Winter Trophy at the Spanish circuit of Karting Campillos last February, the RMCET championship continues to attract an international line-up from around the globe.

Eight Rotax categories make up the program at the opening event. In the Rotax 125 MAX classes, four of these will be contested in all rounds: Junior MAX, Senior MAX, DD2 and DD2 Masters. This year there are 10 RMC Grand Finals tickets making up the prize pool for the leading drivers, who will secure their place on the grid in Bahrain from December 2-9. Race organiser and promoter Camp Company has introduced a new points system based on the sum of the best 10 results for the series (Ranking after Heats, Pre-final and Final) of the total 12 results. The Rotax Mini MAX category for drivers aged 9-12 years will be run over three events: Genk and Mariembourg (Belgium) and PFI (UK). A bonus for the winners of the first two rounds of the Mini MAX will see the youngsters awarded their entry ticket to Le Mans for the RMC International Trophy in the summer. The new age Rotax electric karts return with a classification for drivers over 32 years as the Rotax E20 Senior Masters, who have their chance to qualify for the RMCGF along with the E20 Senior champions at the end of the two-round series (Genk and PFI). Also onboard the Sodikart DD2 chassis with the Rotax E20 powertrain is the E20 Junior class, attracting younger drivers to the latest e-technology.

Qualifying Practice
Drivers had 5 minutes on Friday afternoon to get the fastest laptime from the new MOJO Racing Tyres to determine the grids for the 25 heat races Saturday. Leading the way in the various groups and taking pole position were the following drivers:

Mini MAX
Jacob Ashcroft  GBR #122 (58.344)
Dan Holland Racing-LN   (Group 2)

Junior MAX
Christopher Feghali  LBN #221 (55.403)
Dan Holland Racing-LN   (Group 2)

Senior MAX
Jayden Thien
 NLD #380 (53.707)
RR Racing-Tonykart    (Group 1)

David Aulejtner
  POL #465 (53.361) 
Wyrzkowski Motorsport-LN    (Group 1)

DD2 Masters
Denis Thum
  DEU #577 (53.761)
Kraft Motorsport-LN  (Group 1)

E20 Senior
Tijs Daems
  BEL #721 (54.504)
Daems Racing Team-Sodikart

E20 Senior Masters
Hector Ramirez
  CHI #801 (55.397)

E20 Junior
Frederique Lemieux
  CAN #603 (56.579)

Saturday is packed with qualifying heat races up until almost 7pm in the evening so tune in to follow all the action live online if you cannot be trackside at the Home of Champions this weekend to see it.

Watch the livestream on YouTube and follow the live timing from the round 1 of the RMCET at –

Download the Rotax Global App free on the App Store and Google Play.
Find all the latest news at Vroomkart and Rotax Karting on social media #rotaxmaxeurotrophy.

Qualifying Heats   10:00 – 18:45
Second Chance Races   10:30
Pre-Finals   11:20
Finals   14:00
(*CEST – local time Belgium)

Live Timing


Time Schedule


Photos: ©Nina Megger

Created by: abruno - 15/04/23

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list