The competition heats up in Mariembourg at the RMC Euro Trophy

Columns: Races
Saturday’s on-track program at Karting des Fagnes in Belgium saw 24 qualifying heats contested into the summer evening at the round 3 edition of the Rotax MAX Challenge Euro Trophy 2022.

The lengthy Mariembourg circuit lived up to its reputation, giving RMCET competitors yet another new challenge. As expected, the racing was closely-fought and not without its share of action.

Toms Strele with a hat-trick took victory in all three Mini MAX heats from pole ahead of Maxim Bobreshov and the driver at the top of the standings, Boaz Maximov. There were otherwise mixed results in the field made up of 10 nationalities from the nose-to-tail racing.

In Junior MAX, Ethan Jeff-Hall took the honours in his three races after his top qualifying performance. Consistent second place finishes for rival Tommie van Der Struijs gave him P2 in the rankings, on equal points with third-placed Mateja Radenkovic with one race win. Remaining winners Enzo Bol and Leon Zelenko battled for P2 until an incident in the last heat.

Teammates Lachlan Robinson and Sean Butcher ended up on the same points at the top in Senior MAX. Each had a double victory and second place, but Robinson prevailed for pole in Sunday’s Final 1 with a better qualifying lap. Only a point behind, series leader Kai Rillaerts shared two wins and P3.

Leading the 2-speed DD2 class, Mark Kimber took the flag twice to rank P1 and had a second place to Leonardo Baccaglini.
The Italian’s brilliant qualifying took a dramatic turn in the opening race, left starting from the outgrid then forced to retire with damage trying to make up places. A victory and P2 was only enough to be P9. RMCGF winner Martin van Leeuwen ranks P2 with all top 3 race results and Ville Viiliaeinen ranks next.

DD2 Masters is shaping up to be a showdown of experience with Martynas Tankevicius starting on pole Sunday after his two wins, beside series leader Denis Thum. Carl Cleirbaut maintained P3.

The Rotax Project E20 Junior leader Thijs Stevens was victorious in all the heats, but still had to battle with local Tijs Daems ranked second, while Daniel Hauswirth was third. Pole-sitter Luca Nieuwenhuizen had a win, though was unable to prevent Lebanon’s Matthias Njeim passing him for P1 in the other heats to top the E20 Senior rankings. Meanwhile, former class Junior Kacper Turoboyski is going to start from grid 3 after his good results.
Photos: ©Nina Megger & Jen Wade

SUNDAY PROGRAM 10:40 – Second Chance Heat Senior MAX 11:05 – Finals 1   13:15 – 14:00     **Lunch break** 14:00 – Finals 2   17:00 – Prize-giving ceremony *Championship podiums – Project E20 + Mini MAX

Find more info with the links to LIVE TIMING and LIVESTREAM on the Rotax Global app (App Store or Google Play Store) and on the RMC Euro Trophy website - 
The livestream coverage begins online at 10.20am on Saturday and 10.30am Sunday (CEST). 



Photos: ©KartPhoto/Michael Melis
From Mariembourg, Jen Wade


Created by: cggiuliano - 10/07/22

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list