RMC Euro Trophy race grids decided after Friday qualifying

Columns: Races
The starting line-up is now set for the qualifying heats Saturday, following today’s official timed practice at the Karting des Fagnes circuit in Mariembourg, for the third round of the Rotax MAX Challenge Euro Trophy. The entries total 165 for the event beginning the second half of the season where the drivers at the top of the timesheets include some of the current championship leaders.

Friday, April 8th, 2022
The pole-sitters in the seven Rotax classes on the program confirmed the level of the competition is going to be close in the fight for vital positions when it comes to the all-important Final races for the series points on Sunday. With three of the categories crowning the 2022 title-winners at this round, the Mini MAX and both Rotax Project E20 – Junior and Senior classes, the anticipation is building.
Conditions were quite ideal for the qualifying Friday afternoon, reaching around 26°C and warm, bright sunshine, as the grip built up from the MOJO Racing Tyres on the fast, technical 1,366-metre-long Belgian track. There were some new names appearing at the top this time around amidst the expected front-runners, yet they all have an equal chance tomorrow with three heat races each.

Jason Leung repeated his pace-setting performance from round 2 in France while Ethan Jeff-Hall, Denis Thum and Thijs Stevens are hoping starting from pole will ensure they their title is firmly in their hand when it comes to the end of the weekend. Italy’s Leonardo Baccaglini claimed pole as he continues to show his speed after winning the BNL Karting Series round here last Sunday, fractionally faster than leading DD2 driver and 2021 Senior MAX World #1 Mark Kimber. Both Toms Strele and Luca Nieuwenhuizen have been competitive in the previous races, setting themselves up now on P1.

Qualifying – Pole Position:
Mini MAX – Toms Strele (LAT)
Junior MAX – Ethan Jeff Hall (GBR)
Senior MAX – Jason Leung (CAN)
DD2 – Leonardo Baccaglini (ITA)
DD2 Masters – Denis Thum (GER)
Project E20 Junior – Thijs Stevens (NED)
Project E20 Senior – Luca Nieuwenhuizen (NED)

Get the direct links to LIVE TIMING and LIVESTREAM on the Rotax Global app (on the App Store or Google Play Store) and on the RMC Euro Trophy website - www.rotaxmaxchallenge-eurotrophy.com

The live coverage begins at 10.20am (CEST) on Saturday for the start of the qualifying heat races.

Created by: abruno - 09/07/22

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list