WSK - Viganó, Deligny, Khavalkin and Hoogendoorn win the race

Columns: Races
The Sarno weekend concludes the 2022 Super Master Series. Viganó, Deligny, Khavalkin and Hoogendoorn win the race, championships awarded to Van Walstijn, Turney, Bondarev and Pesl (Sub-Judice).

KZ2 - Matteo Viganó sounds the charge, Sodi celebrates with Van Walstijn 
The queen class concludes its preliminary phase, preparing for the European Championship. In the very final of Sarno, it is Pedro Hiltbrand who is the author of the first great coup. After dominating the scene for the whole weekend, including the pole position for the final and the command of the race until the tenth lap (when he seemed really uncatchable), the Spaniard of Birel Art was forced to retire for a technical problem. From then on it was showtime for Matteo Viganó (Lennox Racing), the overall leader. The Italian was the first to cross the finish line, sprinting ahead of his teammate Tom Leuillet. Third position for Paolo Ippolito, recovering from his former teammate Jeremy Iglesias, fourth for CRG. In spite of the fifth place, Senna Van Walstijn became the automatic Champion with 210 points ahead of Viganó (181) and Hiltbrand (146).

OK - Deligny beats Turney, the Englishman celebrates overall success
The Frenchman made no mistake in the Final, building a great comeback with eight positions recovered and the victory over Turney. The Englishman, seemingly hidden over the weekend, brought out his potential at the end of the weekend, touching the stage success but still achieving the victory of the Master Series. The podium was completed by Freddie Slater, who started on the second row, fast but not fast enough for the win. Only fifth Nakamura-Berta after the pole position. 

OKJ - Khavalkin shows character
Russian derby between Anatoly Khavalkin (who started fifth) and Kirill Dzitiev. The Russian, already on the podium of the OKJ World Championship 2021, has materialized the great competitiveness shown since the first race of the season. He won thanks to his perseverance and stubbornness in recovering and leading the race in the final laps, beating the competition by half a second. Third place for Nathan Tye, fourth place for Matveev and fifth place for the Russian of Birel Art, Kutskov. It is worth mentioning the race accident after the first laps that, surprisingly, had erased any chance of victory for Oleksandr Bondarev from third to penultimate place after the contact. A "zero" in the standings insignificant for the Ukrainian driver, mathematically winner of the SMS, thanks to the victory seven days ago at La Conca.

60 Mini - Pesl Sub-Judice Champion
Jindrich Pesl, on Friday, had been excluded from the competition after an irregular episode in the parc fermé. Exclusion then sent to the appeal by the team and enough for the driver of the Czech Republic to continue his weekend, waiting for the result of the judges. In the race, Pesl was beaten by Dean Hoogendoorn's overtaking right at the last lap and useful for the victory. Third was Iacopo Martinese, who started in pole position, and fourth was Costoya, Pesl's direct rival.

Simone Corradengo

Photocredits: Mario Perrucca / Motorsportpictures

Created by: fmarangon - 13/03/22

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list