2017 SWS Finals – World Master Finals report

- Races
An intense and hot day of races is finished. Team Batelco, Benjamin Thiry, Christian Douven and Kevin Caprasse are the new SWS champions!

The Batelco Racing Team from the Kingdom of Bahrain crossed the line in first at 12 o’ clock. After 12 hours of races they had 28 seconds of advantage on 2016 SWS Endurance Cup winning team CG Racing Pro. Belgian team Modave Racing PPS rounded out the podium.
Benjamin Thiry took the head of the race during the first lap with polesitter Alex Connor behind him. The leading duo pulled away while behind them the battle for the third place flares up. On lap eight the fighting group caught the driver in second position and Fraser Brunton and Adrien Le Floch stepped on the podium. 


Christian Douven took the head of the race ahead of Alexandr Vasilenko and Mickael Mota, while Gianluca Cadoni slipped in eight. The leading duo had a faster pace and they opened a considerable gap. On the final lap the leaders were side by side fiercely fighting for the head of the race, but in the end the Dutchman crossed the line in first. Third position for the lady Marco Romelli followed by Cadoni who recovered two positions in the last corner.  


Reigning world champion Kevin Caprasse kept the head of the race followed by Nikolay Varbitzaliev and Ventsislav Vassilev while Adrien Spinelli slipped into 4th. On lap 3 Simon Delvenne overtook Spinelli and two laps later he overtook Vassilev, but it's not finished. On lap 9 the Belgian vice world chammpion Delvenne overtook Varbitzaliev and started chasing Caprasse, but the leader was too far and he had to settle for second, for the second year in a row. 


Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list
Follow Us on Facebook