Double European Title in KZ2 & KF2!

The Energy Corse team has already accomplished several of the goals it has set for itself in 2010.

After a brilliant victory in the WSK Euro Series, Paolo De Conto triumphed three weeks later at the European KZ2 Championship. Then, it was Nicolaj Moller-Madsen's turn to show what he was capable of doing at the wheel of his Energy-TM. The Danish driver first created a stir at the WSK World Series, and then became European KF2 champion after his unquestionable domination in the final race.

Moller-Madsen: European KF2 Champion
On the Genk circuit, which was very difficult for both karts and drivers, especially due to the heat that made the work of technicians even more complicated in Belgium, Nicolaj Moller-Madsen and his Energy chassis where literally irresistible in the European KF2 Championship final. "This round is a very long one, with many qualifying heats, a pre-final and a 30 km final. The aim is to reach the last race with a kart that can be competitive on that distance. Thanks to the Energy team, I managed to do that, in addition to the best lap time in race. It's the greatest day in my life”, the Danish driver exulted, happy to have his revenge one week after the beginning of the WSK World Series. In Portugal, he had taken the lead in the final, but then he had made a mistake and retired after a collision. In Genk, the Italian brand could also hope for an excellent result in KF, with two drivers racing with Energy chassis in the top 10 after the qualifying heats. Unfortunately Danish Dennis Olsen, as well as Finnish Ville Mäntylä did not perform as expected on Sunday afternoon.

Hat-trick of wins for Energy at the European KZ2 Championship
Energy won three races out of four at the European KZ2 championship 2010. In Varennes sur Allier, Yan Pesce won the last round of the Championship, which ended in a triumph for the Italian chassis. In the general standings, Italian De Conto logically became European champion ahead of two other Energy drivers, French Pesce and Duch Kevin Leijtens. After Van der Ende in 2004, Behrens in 2006 and Lavanant in 2008, Energy triumphed in KZ2 for the fourth time in less than six years!

Seven times in the top 3 in the German Championship
In the three main categories of the German Championship, the Energy Corse team has placed at least one driver in the top 3 in the final phases of the third meeting held in Wackersdorf. Good news came from Norwegian Dennis Olsen's victory in KF3 (DJKM). After constant progression in the standings since the WSK (he was also fifth in the World Series in Portimao), Olsen finished third in the sprint race, and then conquered the grand final. In KF2 (DKM), Nicolaj Moller-Madsen and Joel Johansson both climbed the podium, while Paolo De Conto and Kevin Leijtens placed their Energy-TM karts in the top three in the sprint race.

A comment by Michele Panigada (team manager)
"The real positive thing for Energy is that our chassis and racing team are capable of winning and achieving great performances in the different meetings we attend. So 2010 will be a special year for Energy, with two European Champion titles in a row, in categories as different as KZ2 and KF2. In both cases, success has not come by chance, because Paolo De Conto and Nicolaj Moller-Madsen have really imposed their pace on their rivals. My compliments go to all our partners, to our engine mechanics (Rizzi and GKS) and to all the people who have contributed to this long list of victories".


Created by: admin - 14/07/10

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list