Champions are crowned

The 10th edition of the Rotax Grand Finals has lived its epitome in Sharm El Sheikh with three brilliant finals.

Report S.Murtas

Everyone’s predictions on the final winner were shattered with only one exception: Luke Varley in Senior class, who led off the green lights, lost the lead for few laps in the early stages, but then regained it and went on to claim the title and the free test in Formula Renault 2.0 with Van Amersfoort Racing team in 2010.

In Junior, Ed Brand took the command and held the lead unchallenged for most of the race. But with few laps to go, Japan’s Sasahara made his move and made it stick clinching the 2009 title, Ed Brand later dropping another place to Matthew Parry finishing 3rd.

In DD2, Ralph Odendaal seemed set for the win, but fellow South African Caleb Williams from 6th on the grid kept right on his tails and overtook him with few laps from the flag, claiming the title. Third at the chequers, Cody Hodgson for the USA.
The prize giving ceremony later on in the day will seal another extremely successful Rotax Grand Finals.

Find all results and information about the weekend on


Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list
Follow Us on Facebook