The WSK Super Master Series has its winners

Press Release by:
Columns: Races
Ardigò (Tony Kart-Vortex KZ2), Ilott (Zanardi-Parilla KF), Ahmed (FA Kart-Vortex FJ) and Abrusci (Tony Kart-LKE 60 Mini) are the champions.

The WSK Super Master Series presents its winners with the delayed broadcast of the event on Rai Sport 2
The WSK Super Master Series ended in Muro Leccese with its third round. The 2014 Series was a heated and thrilling one: it started on the International Circuit Napoli of Sarno (Salerno), then moved to the 7 Laghi facility of Castelletto di Branduzzo (Pavia) between March and April and then had its grand finale on the International Circuit La Conca. The WSK Series lured drivers from all around the world: they challenged each other on the Italian tracks and in front of the cameras. Many were the protagonists of the Series, as well as many were the countries they came from: more than fourty contries representing all the five continents. Also the number of participants is impressive: an average of over 200 drivers and, among them, lots of top international kart drivers eager to become big names of motorsport. The event was particularly appealing also thanks to the live streaming coverage of the official WSK website The promotion of the Series has been boosted by the support of Rai Sport, which has aired the delayed broadcast of the Final after each event. So, fans of kart racing are eagerly waiting for next TV broadcast after last Sunday's race in Muro Leccese: the programme is on schedule for next 30th April on Rai Sport 2 at 03:30pm. Then, on Friday, the usual appointment with the TV special report that will recap the whole weekend with the most spectacular images of the race.

Ardigo’ wins in the KZ2 of the champions
Marco Ardigò (Tony Kart-Vortex-Bridgestone) was, as usual, very motivated in Muro Leccese and did not miss victory. Also on the Apulian track he scored first place in the Final in a race crammed with world champions. This time he had to confirm his leadership in KZ2, a leadership he had reached in the previous round of Castelletto, ousting the Dutch Bas Lammers (FK-Parilla-Bridgestone), the winner of the season opener in Sarno. The race to victory involved more drivers in round 2, on the 7 Laghi circuit. Here, the French Arnaud Kozlinski (Intrepid-TM-Bridgestone) joined the battle, while in Muro Leccese Ardigò had to cope with the Belgian Jonathan Thonon (Praga-Parilla-Bridgestone). The runner-up of the category is Lammers, while Thonon is third despite scoring equal point - Lammers prevailed thanks to his victory in round 1 -. Kozlinski is fourth ahead of the excellent Italian Paolo De Conto (Birel-TM-Bridgestone),  who made himself conspicuous in the last two rounds. Good performance also for the Italian from Rome Flavio Camponeschi, sixth, who paid dear the bad luck which dogged him in Sarno.

Ilott prevails in a KF full of talented drivers
The KF of the WSK Super Master Series was a veritable showcase of talents, full of unpredictable results and of protagonists who took centre stage throughout the whole championship. The Polish Karol Basz (Tony Kart-Vortex-Dunlop) won in round 1, while the Indian Jehan Daruvala (FA Kart-Vortex-Dunlop) dominated the race of Castelletto. But it was not enough yet; in Muro Leccese the winner was the British Callum Illott (Zanardi-Parrilla-Dunlop), who also managed to win the Series. Bad luck in La Conca for the other two protagonists of the first two rounds, who got overtaken in the final standing by the excellent Italian Alessio Lorandi (Tony Kart-Vortex-Dunlop), the runner-up of the category. He put in a very good performance in Muro Leccese, which allowed him to pass Basz, who finished third. The Danish Nicklas Nielsen (Kosmic-Vortex-Dunlop) kept a steady pace in all the three rounds and, without the bad luck of last Sunday's Final, he would have scored better than fourth. Good result, on the other hand, for the Finnish Niko Kari (Tony Kart-Vortex): he scored a podium position at La Conca and achieved a final fifth place, ahead of Daruvala.

Ahmed on top in KF Junior
Nothing is impossible, even when closing the gap seems too tough. The British Enaam Ahmed (FA Kart-Vortex-Vega) proved it at La Conca: he was in seventh position after Castelletto, 56 points behind the leader, the Venezuelan Mauricio Baiz (Exprit-Vortex-Vega). Ahmed had been dogged by bad luck in the first two rounds and he had only managed to score a podium position in Sarno. However, the Londoner got his payback in Muro Leccese, where he won the Pre-final B and the Final, achieving the maximum score possible. On the other hand, Baiz's performance in Puglia wasn't good as usual: he was always far from the top positions. The same can be said about the English Daniel Ticktum (Zanardi-Parilla-Vega), hit by bad luck at the start of the Final and then by a 5-second penalty. So, Ticktum missed a success which seemed within his reach after the second place scored in the Pre-final A. Bad day also for the Italian Leonardo Lorandi (Tony Kart-TM-Vega), who could not take part in the sprint for victory becasue he had to stop during the first laps of the Final. All these coincidences helped Ahmed who, thanks to the points gathered at La Conca, was able to close the gap and get on top of the standing. Ticktum and Lorandi, at least, placed second and third ahead of Baiz. The final sprint was favourable also to the English Max Fewtrell (FA Kart-Vortex-Vega) and the Russian Alexander Vartanyan (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega): thanks to the positions scored in the last round (Fewtrell even won Pre-final A ), they placed fifth and sixth.

Abrusci pushes and wins in 60 Mini
Once again the standing was changed by a thrilling final sprint, this time in the 60 Mini category. Eventually, the Series was won by the Italian Nicola Abrusci (Tony Kart-LKE-Vega), the third leader of a standing always uncertain throughout the whole championship. The Romanian Makar Mizevych (Tony Kart-LKE-Vega), who arrived in Muro Leccese as the leader of the category, paid dear this uncertainty. He was constantly under the attack of Abrusci and of the Malaysian Muizz Abdul Gafar (Hero-LKE-Vega). Abrusci, on his home circuit, was eager to win the round and the Series. He won in the Pre-final B and in the Final: mission accomplished. Abrusci passed Mizevych and hauled himself up to first position. The Romanian driver was even hit by a penalty for some incidents occurred during the race and lost the second place. Eventually, the runner-up was Abdul Gafar, as motivated as Abrusci. He was among the favourites at the beginning of the season, but Giuseppe Fusco (Lenzo kart-LKE-Vega) was only able to recover some positions in the last round. He finally placed fourth, ahead of the Italian-Canadian Antonio Serravalle. The north American was one of the surprises of the season and placed fifth ahead of the Norwegian Dennis Hauger (Hero-LKE-Vega).

Press Release by: WSK Master Series - 30/04/14

Browse by Columns





SIM - Racing Simulator




Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list