In a changing of the guard, the 2009 CIK-FIA European KZ1 championship hosted by Prokart Raceland at Wackersdorf in Germany has been won by former European Formula A champ Bas Lammers, while KZ2 went to Italy's Angelo Lombardo.

Report J.Wade

The Dutchman dominated the heats and was joined on the front row for the pre-final by 16 year old team-mate Norman Nato (Intrepid-TM), who outshone an outstanding driver line-up in the top-level gearbox class to be fastest qualifier Friday. However, it was team rival Jeremy Iglesias (Intrepid-TM) from grid 4 who took the race honours.

Iglesias lost the final start to Italy’s Marco Ardigo (Tony Kart-Vortex), but by lap 4 was back in control. In the latter stages of the 30km race Lammers stole the lead to secure the championship, although Iglesias was fastest on track. Defending European champ Jonathan Thonon (CRG-Maxter) in 3rd surrendered his title ahead of Ardigo and Davide Fore (CRG-Maxter).

Angelo Lombardo (Tony Kart-Vortex) of Italy is the new European KZ2 Champion, in what was a dramatic last round. Series leader Patrik Hajek (Tony Kart-Vortex) was crashed out in race 1, ending up 2nd on equal points with Riccardo Piccoli (CKR-TM). The 2009 champion won both races, with Devide De Luchi (Intrepid-TM) and Jorrit Pex (CRG-TM) completing the podium, swapping places for 2nd and 3rd in race 2.

Find all results on


Stay tuned!
Sign up for our mailing list
Follow Us on Facebook